Technology headericon

European test standard EN779:2012

The following table is used for the classification of filters in classes G, M and F. These filter classes are typically used within comfort ventilation as well as for pre-filters in the ventilation process. This standard defines test procedures for coarse and fine filters. Since April 2012, version EN 779: 2012 is valid where the introduction of a minimum level of energy efficiency for class F7 to F9  are added and changed the names of previous classes F5 and F6 to what is nowadays the medium class M5 and M6.


The properties of atmospheric dust vary considerably compared with the synthetic standard test dust used in accordance with EN779: 2009. Because of this, the test results are not a completely accurate basis for predicting either operational performance or longevity for different operating conditions. The shedding of particles or fibers can affect efficiency.

Eurovent certification for fine filters
Not all manufacturers of filters can keep the promises they make for their products. It is not uncommon to find features in their product information that is never achieved in reality. However, there is a way the client can protect themselves – The Eurovent Certification Company,  an independent institution, have developed an international certification program for fine filter in groups M and F (EN 779:2012), which gives the user trust. All Viledon filters in classes M and F have been certified by Eurovent.

International certification
Eurovent is known throughout Europe to ensure accurate and reliable product data for ventilation, air conditioning, heating and refrigeration equipment. In tests, filters have been checked to see if the information provided by the manufacturer are correct-in other words, to ensure that the filters actually deliver the performance promised by the manufacturer. Eurovent cooperates with various European test facilities that specialize in testing of filters to achieve this.

How does the certification process?
All participating filter manufacturers provide access to their entire Eurovent product range of fine filters. Eurovent then selects a variety of filters at random and carry out their standardized laboratory tests. If discrepancies between test results and the vendor’s data fall outside the permitted tolerances, the manufacturer is obliged to change its stated published specifications. In the event of severe or more frequent deviations further sanctions can be applied. In the last case, it is the exclusion of the manufacturer from the program itself.

What filters should be certified?
Approved for certification are all air filters with a frame size of 592 x 592 mm, classified by the manufacturer as fine filter and thus belongs to the groups M and F, according to the EN779: 2012 standard.

Which properties should be certified?

  • All fine filter classes belong to Medium (M5-M6) and Fine (F7-F9)
  • Initial pressure drop in Pa, measured according to EN779
  • Initial efficiency according to EN779 (only for filters from F7 to F9)
  • Minimum efficiency according to EN779 (only for filters from F7 to F9)
  • Energy efficiency class according to Eurovent 11/4 (ranked with an air flow volume of 0,944 m3/s)
  • Annual energy usage according to Eurovent 11/4 (ranked with an air flow volume of 0,944 m3/s)

Who performs the tests?
Two independent laboratories are selected to carry out regular tests: These are the “SP Technical Research Institute” in Sweden and the “VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland”.

How can I recognize whether a fine filter has Eurovent certifiering?
By looking for the Eurovent logo.

How can I find out more about the Eurovent certification?
Do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than happy to inform you about all the latest news and themes of filtration.

European test standard EN1822: 2009
The following table is used for the classification of filters in classes E, H and U. Products within these filter classes are typically used in ventilation systems for controlled sterile processes. Classification in accordance with EN 1822: 2009 is for filtration effectiveness and penetration (leakage). HEPA and ULPA filters are typically tested individually, with tests based on the latest methods for particle counting by scanning.


  • Filters in the classes E10, E11 and E12 do not require verification of local penetration.
  • Filter classes H13 and H14 may, as an alternative to scanning, be verified by a visual “Oil Thread Test” where a possible penetration visualized by an illuminated paraffin oil smoke penetrates the media when tested in a darkroom.
  • Classes U15-U17 should be individually tested by scanning the entire filter surface and the outer edge of the frame.
  • Class U17 is an exception to the rule. In this case, the local value of penetration cannot exceed 20 x the total value.

European standard ISO14644-1 (clean room class)
The following table is used for the classification of clean rooms and other controlled environments where the ISO is accepted. These classes are typically used in critical processes in for i.e., the electronics industry where the number of particles and their properties affect the process negatively and where a biological effect by penetrating particles is secondary. The class is determined exclusively by the concentration of airborne particles based on sizes from 0.1 to 5 μm microns.


Energy efficiency according to Eurovent 11/4teknik-eurovent
Rising energy costs and hence the desire forthe reduced demand for energy and the need to reduce CO2 emissions is increasingly attracting attention, even  within the ventilation industry. In Europe, between 10% and 20% of all electricity consumption for industrial and commercial centers is used to drive fans in the ventilation system. About one third of this energy is needed due to air resistance (pressure loss) through the air filter. Energy-saving measures include the expansion or upgrading of systems and to equip them with high-efficiency, frequency controlled fans.